Monday, March 06, 2006

Securely deleting files with shred

Securely deleting files with shred

"Deleting a file with the rm command merely adds a file's data blocks back to the system's free list. A file can be restored easily if its "freed" blocks have not been used again. shred repeatedly overwrites a file's space on the hard disk with random data, so even if a data recovery tool finds your file, it will be unreadable. By default, shred does not delete a file, but you can use the -u or --remove switch to delete it."


Post a Comment

<< Home